Noob question

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Air Luigi

Air Luigi

Tio guachi

• Members

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:00 PM

I'm new with zquest. I created a guy room with the wooden sword. Works perfect, I picked the sword in ZC... but the sword doesn't appear in my menu and I can't use it.

I know is something pretty basic, I'm apologize in advance >.< But I can't figure what I'm doing wrong.

#2 Russ

Russ

Caelan, the Encouraging

• Administrators

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:03 PM

Okay, there's a whole lot of explanations for why this could be happening, but I think I know one in particular. There's a quest rule called "Can Select A Button item" or something like that, that basically lets you choose an item for the A and B button, instead of having the sword permanently stuck to the A button. If you have that checked, the sword has to actually be placed in the subscreen, via the subscreen editor, to be useable. You can either uncheck the rule or edit the subscreen to fix the problem.

Good luck with your quest!

#3 XMSB

XMSB

Furry Friends Furever

• Members

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:20 PM

Also, the default template has subscreens that display the sword as a selectable item (these subscreens have B+A in their names). So go the DMap Editor->Appearance, and you'll see some active and passive subscreens options. Then click on the drop-down box to open up a drop-down menu, and make sure you choose a B+A subscreen from the drop-down menu.

#4 Air Luigi

Air Luigi

Tio guachi

• Members

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:26 PM

Fixed, thanks to both. I will be bothering more the next days, I hope.  :slycool:

#5 Jamian

Jamian

ZC enthusiast

• Members

Posted 25 May 2013 - 05:44 AM

I don't know if they're still being bundled with ZC (I think not, unfortunately), but looking at the unpassworded example 1st and 2nd quests in ZC is a great way to learn how everything is done, at least as far as classic style goes.

#6 Legen Dary

Legen Dary

Freak Scene