Jump to content

Photo

I want FFC's to disappear.


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 Omega

Omega

    Yes

  • Members

Posted 06 June 2011 - 05:15 PM

Well, you could hide a hidden tunnel somewhere underground far off, that you go through at the end of the game to get into the castle. But it's a whole new part of the castle. You can also edit one of the current castle rooms so like the player can go onto that screen from the other part of the castle. But only to see that he is in the castle he played way back in the beginning of the game. He cant explore it though, because the little area he is in is blocked off from that side.

Since your using the same tileset I use, you can use some of the dungeon tiles for this. I think it's a cool idea!

#17 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 07 June 2011 - 02:28 PM

Hm, sounds interesting! Suddenly, all this sounds like Skyward Sword o-o

#18 Omega

Omega

    Yes

  • Members

Posted 07 June 2011 - 06:56 PM

No idea what that is. Just something I thought may work for your situation icon_razz.gif

#19 symbiote01

symbiote01

    Doyen(ne)

  • Members
  • Real Name:Doug
  • Location:WA

Posted 07 June 2011 - 08:48 PM

Can't you just script an FFC to only run if a certain condition is true, like while(screen->D0 == 0) or something? In the script, include a line that changes that condition, and poof! It runs once and doesn't ever run again. You can change a specific tile or group of tiles to non-warping tiles with the script, too.
I understand the ease of making a bunch of duplicate screens, but why do it if you don't have to?

#20 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:21 PM

Is that possible? Could you help? icon_smile.gif

#21 Orithan

Orithan

    Studying Scientist - Commission from Silvixen

  • Members
  • Location:Australia

Posted 07 June 2011 - 11:27 PM

Here's a script:

CODE
ffc script one-timecombochange{
    void run(int register, int cmb){ //Declares the two FFC->D variables that will be used.
        if(Screen->D[register] == 0){
            Screen->D[register] ++; //Increments the value in the Screen->D variable you want to use for your register.
            This->Data = cmb; //changes the combo of the FFC to what you want.

        }
    }
}


Haven't tested it, as I just took a script from Gale of Darkness and modified it in a quick few seconds.

- D0 is the D-Variable to use as the register.

- D1 is the combo to change the FFC to.

In order for it to automatically warp you out, you should leave D0 as 0 (unless you are using another script that uses D0!) and set D1 to an Auto Side Warp-type combo.



#22 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 08 June 2011 - 12:20 PM

Will I still need the original script?

#23 Omega

Omega

    Yes

  • Members

Posted 08 June 2011 - 02:49 PM

I've got a better idea. Make another room that will be before the girl rooms. Put perma triggers in that room so when you walk on them they open the blocks before you and make blocks behind you appear. This way you can block the path to her off forever. You can then make that room have a continue spot after the perma trigger blocks so if anyone saves in that room they will appear beyond the triggered blocks until they do the cut scene so they wont get stuck in a game ending glitch / problem. Then put blocks in the room before that are also triggered by the perma blocks via combo carry over. These blocks will block the entrance to that room so once they do this and save after the cut scene they wont be able to get back in that room to save and appear after the blocks again.

This is a very simple alternative if you can't get anyone to help you with the script.

icon_razz.gif

Edited by Franky, 08 June 2011 - 03:00 PM.


#24 Orithan

Orithan

    Studying Scientist - Commission from Silvixen

  • Members
  • Location:Australia

Posted 08 June 2011 - 10:02 PM

QUOTE(Lynker @ Jun 9 2011, 03:20 AM) View Post
Will I still need the original script?


If you did, then I would have posted it along with my modded script.

In other words, no, you didn't need the orignal.



#25 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 09 June 2011 - 03:31 PM

What do I put in for D0? I don't understand.

IPB Image

Edited by Lynker, 09 June 2011 - 03:35 PM.


#26 Omega

Omega

    Yes

  • Members

Posted 09 June 2011 - 04:18 PM

Did you put the script in a text file like this:

CODE
import "std.zh"

ffc script one-timecombochange{
    void run(int register, int cmb){ //Declares the two FFC->D variables that will be used.
        if(Screen->D[register] == 0){
            Screen->D[register] ++; //Increments the value in the Screen->D variable you want to use for your register.
            This->Data = cmb; //changes the combo of the FFC to what you want.

        }
    }
}

Then save the text file with .z after it? Example: "MyScript.z"

Edited by Franky, 09 June 2011 - 04:19 PM.


#27 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 09 June 2011 - 04:21 PM

Yes, I have other scripts in my game, thank you xD

#28 Colossal

Colossal

    Illustrious

  • Members
  • Location:Canada

Posted 09 June 2011 - 04:25 PM

Remove the - from the name of the script; that isn't allowed in Zscript.

D0 can be from 0 to 7; you can set it to 0 unless you have another script that uses Screen->D[0].


#29 Orithan

Orithan

    Studying Scientist - Commission from Silvixen

  • Members
  • Location:Australia

Posted 09 June 2011 - 04:52 PM

QUOTE(Colossal @ Jun 10 2011, 07:25 AM) View Post
Remove the - from the name of the script; that isn't allowed in Zscript.

D0 can be from 0 to 7; you can set it to 0 unless you have another script that uses Screen->D[0].


Doh! icon_doh.gif Like I said, it wasn't tested, though. I didn't have any idea it wasn't allowed in ZScript.


Edited by Orin XD, 09 June 2011 - 04:53 PM.


#30 Jared

Jared

    Deified

  • Members
  • Real Name:Jared
  • Pronouns:He / Him
  • Location:New Hampshire

Posted 11 June 2011 - 10:44 PM

I actually have another idea.

I'll make the door lock behind Link, and the room will be inaccessible.

This is confusing me, can you guys help? xD


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users