Talkable NPCs

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Eskimojoe

Eskimojoe

Junior

• Members

Posted 19 March 2013 - 06:11 AM

First and foremost I am using 2.5 build 24 and the classic tileset. I am attempting to utilize talking npcs. I have the script saved as a txt document with .z as the file extension. Now when I attempt to compile I get this...

Pass 1: Parsing
Pass 2: Preprocessing
Pass 3: Building symbol tables
tmp, line 27: Error S09: Variable DIR_UP is undeclared.
tmp, line 28: Error S09: Variable DIR_DOWN is undeclared.
tmp, line 30: Error S09: Variable DIR_LEFT is undeclared.
tmp, line 31: Error S09: Variable DIR_RIGHT is undeclared.

So am I correct in assuming that before I can compile this I have to buile my npc tiles and then edit before compiling and set these variables? Also which other variables need to be set pre compiling? And lastly for now do I need to set this once for each individual npc in my qst? I am new to scripting and so have absolutely no idea what I am doing. Any and all help will be appreciated.

Edit: Thanks Moscow that did it. Now I have another question. How do I set the variables?

Edit: Thanks Lord Settra! That sounds pretty straight forward I will give it a try.

Edited by Eskimojoe, 19 March 2013 - 11:16 AM.

#2 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

• Members

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:25 AM

Put this line at the top of the script file:
import "std.zh"

#3 Rastael

Rastael

Wizard

• Members

Posted 19 March 2013 - 10:22 AM

You mean the "D"-Variables?

For the NPC-script, you need to create a FFC (Freeformcombo) on the screen (press "F7" to create one). If you edit the FFC, there are three pages (for flags etc.). At the 3rd page, you can set the D-Variables.
(my english is not that good, so I hope, you can understand this. If not, I will make some screenshots to show you)

#4 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

• Members

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:09 PM