Messy Kills?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 SpikeReynolds

SpikeReynolds

Ironically bald furry

• Members

Posted 21 July 2012 - 04:47 AM

I'm no expert at scripting, so I don't have an idea whether or not it's feasible to do this. To help me, I have a couple of illustrations to show what I'm going for.

Imagine we have, say, some octorocks. Now naturally, these guys want nothing other than to chew on a nice big piece of Link. Time for the trusty wooden sword.
IPB Image
Now, there isn't a whole lot of killing power to a wooden sword, but octorocks are squishy, so...
IPB Image
Ouch! Now let's say we up the ante a little. Let's imagine link got a couple of heart containers before coming over here, and managed to get his hands on a better weapon. A sharper blade means a cleaner kill, right?
IPB Image
Nope! That white sword popped that octorock like a bag of hamburger. Notice the nice spray of giblets? He hit that sucker pretty hard. Now Link wants to shoot a couple of arrows at that one up top.
IPB Image
Eh, looks like one arrow was more than enough for that...Oh nice! that octorock dropped a bomb! Let's say we let Link have a little fun with that last one...
IPB Image
...to some fairly predictable effect.

What I'm trying to figure out is whether or not there is a way to script an over the top messy kill system into ZC without some huge sort of setback. Anyone with some scripting experience care to share some wisdom?

#2 Orithan

Orithan

Studying Scientist - Commission from Silvixen

• Members

Posted 21 July 2012 - 05:05 AM

It is possible to have that scripted, but I doubt that anybody's going to do it since it sounds so complicated. At least I'm not doing that. I am not into gory deaths like this.