Jump to content

Photo

Show Link's breath in cold area


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Xenix

Xenix

    Well excuse me princess.

  • Members
  • Real Name:Chris
  • Location:Newport News, VA

Posted 01 September 2010 - 11:59 AM

if you have played loz four swords adventures for the gamecube then you will know what i'm talking about. anyway, i was wondering if it would be possible to make a script (possibly FFC) for link's breath to show, it would be great for snowy areas but i was just wondering if it is possible...

#2 Joe123

Joe123

    Retired

  • Members

Posted 01 September 2010 - 12:12 PM

Yeah it would be possible.
More descriptive topic titles in future might be nice too, I re-named it for you.

#3 trudatman

trudatman

    one point nine hero

  • Members
  • Real Name:that guy
  • Location:State Of Love And Trust, The United State Of Amorica.

Posted 01 September 2010 - 12:57 PM

great idea! I would like to see somebody compile a stickied list of neat scripting ideas (inclusive of ideas like my way-too-cool boomerang-dies-at-the-feet-of-tougher-enemies-and-must-then-be-reacquired-by-retrieving-it-by-hand concept) and links to data of ones that have been attempted. kind of a scripting checklist/master source list. I'd be willing to wager most of the real content of such a list would be achieved through the efforts of a certain Joe. rock on, programming master!

#4 Xenix

Xenix

    Well excuse me princess.

  • Members
  • Real Name:Chris
  • Location:Newport News, VA

Posted 01 September 2010 - 01:50 PM

thanks joe, i was kind of in a rush so i just threw in a name without thinking. but yeah, i've had this idea for awhile but i just don't have the scripting know-how to be able to bring my idea to life....

#5 Joe123

Joe123

    Retired

  • Members

Posted 01 September 2010 - 01:53 PM

No problem ;-)
I don't get round to many requests nowadays 'cause I tend to just not have the time, but this is pretty simple so I might look at having a go later.

#6 Xenix

Xenix

    Well excuse me princess.

  • Members
  • Real Name:Chris
  • Location:Newport News, VA

Posted 01 September 2010 - 01:57 PM

sweet! thanks. oh and i know what you mean, i mean you have AKttH, HP, and EoA. plus on top of that a life outside of zc. i completely understand, that's why i tend to not request many scripts and things. i mean this is my first script request, and it's a simple one.

#7 Joe123

Joe123

    Retired

  • Members

Posted 01 September 2010 - 03:45 PM

Well, I'm not the only person in the world who writes scripts.

Anyway:
CODE
const int BreathEffectIdleTime    = 240; //Frames before effect happens
const int BreathEffectTime        = 20;  //Frames for effect to last for
const int BreathCombo            = 0;   //First combo to draw as breath effect, place U D L R combos consecutively
const int BreathCSet            = 7;   //CSet to draw in
const int BreathOpacity            = 128; //64 is translucent, 128 opaque

ffc script BreathEffect
{
    void run()
    {
        int counter = 0;
        while(true)
        {
            if(counter < BreathEffectIdleTime);
            else if(counter < BreathEffectIdleTime + BreathEffectTime)
                DrawBreath();
            else
                counter = 0;
            
            counter++;
            Waitframe();
        }
    }
    void DrawBreath()
    {
        Screen->FastCombo(3, Link->X + AtFrontX(Link->Dir), Link->Y + AtFrontY(Link->Dir),
                          BreathCombo + Link->Dir, BreathCSet, BreathOpacity);
    }
}

Set the constants at the top up and put it on screens where you want Link to breathe. If you're having any problems ask and I'll try help.
I think you'll probably need 1283 or newer to run it though.

#8 Xenix

Xenix

    Well excuse me princess.

  • Members
  • Real Name:Chris
  • Location:Newport News, VA

Posted 01 September 2010 - 04:40 PM

ah, just one problem, i'm using build 1057. it won't compile. i guess i'll just have to update and get rid of some scripts that don't work. thanks joe! i'l try to get it working!

#9 Joe123

Joe123

    Retired

  • Members

Posted 01 September 2010 - 05:01 PM

Some scripts don't work with the newest build?

#10 Xenix

Xenix

    Well excuse me princess.

  • Members
  • Real Name:Chris
  • Location:Newport News, VA

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:01 PM

yeah like the rolling script and snow combo script....

#11 Joe123

Joe123

    Retired

  • Members

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:03 PM

Oh, they're really old. I have a newer version of the rolling script that I re-wrote more recently, I'll add it to the database when I get round to it.
The snow combo one's pretty awful though to be honest, I must've written that what, 2 or 3 years ago or something?


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users