Photo

Stationary enemy that changes direction?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Dairyking

Dairyking

• Members

Posted 26 November 2017 - 10:55 PM

Hello. I'm fairly new to ZC in general (I only discovered it early last month), so I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place. Anyway, I was wondering if, in the 2.5 enemy editor, it's possible to make an enemy that can change the direction it's facing without actually needing to move around.

I'm trying to make my first quest, and I want to have custom bosses for the dungeons. In this case, I want to make a giant (4x2) Dodongo as a boss that looks like its mouth opens and closes, and you obviously have to feed it bombs when its mouth opens to defeat it. I was thinking I could do this by having the Dodongo be made of animated damage combos, and making the "mouth" a stationary enemy that is only vulnerable to bombs from certain sides, giving it appropriate tiles to look like an open or closed mouth depending on the direction it's facing.

I've tried setting an enemy's step speed to zero, and I've tried limiting the enemy's available walking space to one combo on the screen while its step speed is greater than zero, but both of these result in an enemy that always faces the same direction as when it spawns. Is there a way to accomplish what I'm after in the enemy editor, or no?

-------

A note: I don't want scripts. I think scripts are great, and I'd love to incorporate them in future quests, but I want my first quest to be done completely script-free, to get as much as I can out of ZC's already-present capabilities.