Jump to content

Photo

Need a script for Ring Item that Uses C sets


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 01:58 PM

I Need a script for putting on Ring items that change Link's Character Palettes To different Sets instead of Depending on the old Color NES built in Tunic system.

 

The Reason for this is, it is very buggy for me, in my overworlds it is changing the colors of many of my maps when link uses a different color of the Default NES ZC Tunics.

 

I want to be able to use Tunics  'i Colored myself'  instead of depending on the Default Tunics.

 

I need a Script or system that i can Pin to any Ring obtained which changes Link's Character Sprite Once collected.

 

I have Hand Painted different Link sets all Tunic Colors of choice in my Tiles so Link's sprite can change without using the Default Tunics anymore.

 

I need a Script that can Pinpoint and change Link depending on the Link Sprite sheets i have loaded in.


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 01:59 PM.


#2 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:05 PM

I Need a script for putting on Ring items that change Link's Character Palettes To different Sets instead of Depending on the old Color NES built in Tunic system.

Actually changing Link's CSet is 100% impossible. To do anything, you'd need to use 8-bit, and LTMs; which is NOT A SCRIPT, it's just engine.

The Reason for this is, my overworlds change color when link if a different color of the Default NES ZC Tunics.

That's because you used CSet 6 for your overworld; that is not something you are supposed to do, so that's your fault for designing the overworld wrong.

I want to be able to use Tunics i Colored myself instead of depending on the Default Tunics.

See above; you'd need to use 8-bit and LTMs

I need a Script or system that i can Pin to any Ring obtained which changes Link's Character Sprite Once collected.

See above; use LTMs. They are NOT a script, it's a feature built-in to ZQuest.

I have Hand Painted different Link sets all Tunic Colors of choice in my Tiles so Link's sprite can change without using the Default Tunics anymore.

Perfect; set them up with LTMs. This is not something to script.

I need a Script that can Pinpoint and change Link depending on the Link Sprite sheets i have loaded in.

LTMs.

#3 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:10 PM

What? wait, .. I don't understand?

 

It's impossible to change a character's Sprite??

 

What is LTMs?

 

I don't know what that is.


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 02:13 PM.


#4 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:12 PM

What? wait, .. I don't understand?
 
It's impossible to change a character's Sprite??

It's impossible to change the CSet. It will always use CSet 6.

Anyway, what you want here, is LTMs.

#5 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:13 PM

It's impossible to change the CSet. It will always use CSet 6.

Anyway, what you want here, is LTMs.

 

 

What is LTMs?

 

I don't know what that is.



#6 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:14 PM

What is LTMs?
 
I don't know what that is.

Why don't you look at how Shields are set up in the Classic tileset? They use LTMs to change your sprite, so you are holding a different shield.
  • SkyLizardGirl likes this

#7 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:31 PM

Oh, ok.  I don't fully or really understand it.

 

I will have to figure out why that happens.


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 02:31 PM.


#8 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:36 PM

Oh, ok.  I don't fully or really understand it.
 
I will have to figure out why that happens.

When you get an item with an LTM set on it, it adds that number to the tile used for Link's sprite
  • SkyLizardGirl likes this

#9 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 02:57 PM

i will try and look into this, i haven't considered this yet.

 

Is it Link Tile Modification?

 

And does the Ring have to be set to Shield?


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 03:09 PM.


#10 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:03 PM

Link Tile Modifier is a property of the Item Editor, on the GFX tab. It is a cumulative total of all items in inventory with a LTM value, that Link has, represented as an offset to the tile that is being used to draw him.

 

Shields offset typically by (+260 tiles * shield level), but other items can offset the tile using that property.

 

Normal damage rings should support it, instead of, or in addition to the Link CSet change.

 

The thing that could be scripted here, is a system using SwapTile, CopyTile, and OverlayTile, to change out the base tiles (or the modified tiles) used to draw link. You can do that with 4bbp or with 8bbp tiles, and it's a common method of allowing multiple 'characters' in a quest.

 

You should absolutely fix your issue with using CSet 6 in normal tiles, though. That's an error, but I've accidentally done similar stuff when designing 8bbp tiles.

 

Here is a list of how ZC uses CSets.


  • Avaro and SkyLizardGirl like this

#11 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:12 PM

Thank you for the information,   ..

 

I cannot see the errors of the C set 6 in the Editor on my Map screens, so this causes tons of problems for me, 

they are only Visible when

playing the game, yet even if i see them there in the game, i can still miss getting to them all in the editor.

 

I will probably never find them all because of this tunic problem.

 

Even the SHOP/Cave Guys turn blue..


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 03:14 PM.


#12 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:16 PM

Thank you for the information,   ..
 
I cannot see the errors of the C set 6 in the Editor on my Map screens, so this causes tons of problems for me, 
they are only Visible when
playing the game, yet even if i see them there in the game, i can still miss getting to them all in the editor.
 
I will probably never find them all because of this tunic problem.
 
Even the SHOP/Cave Guys turn blue..

The error is USING CSET 6. The engine overwrites CSet 6 when you change Link's palette, therefore your overworld tiles should not use any colors from CSet 6.

#13 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:21 PM

I cant help that, even dungeons USE C set 6 so parts in Colored dungeons don't turn dark or messed up.

 

I replaced the old C set 6 so i could always use the overworld colors anywhere i want.

I can just disable the default Tunic colors easily with the rings.

..

 

So small shield is 260?  LTM?

 

Idk what that means,  the tiles in the editor don't say that so, i don't know how to pin-point numbers for

the Link Sprites i am using.

 

I cannot easily map this out.


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 03:24 PM.


#14 venrob

venrob

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers
  • Real Name:Rob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:26 PM

I cant help that, even dungeons USE C set 6 so parts in Colored dungeons don't turn dark or messed up.
 
I replaced the old C set 6 so i could always use the overworld colors anywhere i want.
I can just disable the default Tunic colors easily with the rings.
..
 
So small shield is 260?  LTM?
 
Idk what that means,  the tiles in the editor don't say that so, i don't know how to pin-point numbers for
the Link Sprites i am using.
 
I cannot easily map this out.

So, small shield is 260, means that small shield link tiles are 260 tiles after no-shield link tiles.
Link's tiles are set in 'Graphics->Sprites->Link'; simply look at the number of the tile
  • SkyLizardGirl likes this

#15 SkyLizardGirl

SkyLizardGirl

    Humans Are Dangerous - SkyLizardGirl

  • Members
  • Real Name:Arianna Crystal Ritter
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:46 PM

Yes i see that,  but how do i switch to different color tunics i hand colored using rings, without using the Default tunics?

 

How does it identify them all?


Edited by SkyLizardGirl, 08 November 2019 - 03:47 PM.



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users