Jump to content

Photo

justin's Sideview Ladder Script Issue


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 03 April 2019 - 05:12 PM

Hello! If this has been answered somewhere or turns out to be absolutely trivial, I apologize in advance.

 

I'm trying to use justin's Sideview Ladder global script. My ZC version is at least 2.53, but I'm pretty sure it's a newer beta build. I don't think that's the issue however because I've tried the demo out and it works just fine. For whatever reason, I have not been able to get a Sideview Ladder Combo functioning.

 

I'm somewhat new to using scripts in zquest, but I'm pretty sure I've loaded everything correctly. Copied the whole thing into a .z file, compiled just fine after taking out the "bool isSolid(int x, int y)" section (it yelled at me for it.) Loaded the Global type into Active, not the FFC type. And I set CT_SVLADDER to 143 to use CT_SCRIPT2 instead of CT_SCRIPT1 because the latter is a different type of bush in zquest.

 

I've set both the combo type and inherent combo flag to its respective counterpart: combo type to Script 2, combo flag to 99 General Purpose 2 (Scripts). I figure at this point this is all I need to do to have it work (aside from a room with sideview gravity and the new combo in it.)

Nope. I must be missing something here because it works fine in the demo as-is, and it also works fine if I take that same section of code out. Yet in my quest, with no other scripts, it decides to not work presumably because of something I've done. Or haven't. Any ideas? If you need more information, I'll do my best to supply it.

 

Thank you for your time.



#2 judasrising

judasrising

    I play guitar

  • Members
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden but born in Finland

Posted 03 April 2019 - 06:50 PM

And when you tested it, was the test with an new save file?

Edited by judasrising, 03 April 2019 - 06:52 PM.


#3 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 03 April 2019 - 07:42 PM

It was in the quest I've made, yes. Unless you mean to restart the save file. In that case, let me test the ladder out (ha.) I'll edit this post if it's significant.

 

Edit: nothing doing, even after making a new save file.


Edited by Kyouken, 03 April 2019 - 07:44 PM.


#4 judasrising

judasrising

    I play guitar

  • Members
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden but born in Finland

Posted 03 April 2019 - 07:58 PM

It was in the quest I've made, yes. Unless you mean to restart the save file. In that case, let me test the ladder out (ha.) I'll edit this post if it's significant.
 
Edit: nothing doing, even after making a new save file.


And you are sure that you use these lines in the active slot and not the FFC active part?

global script Slot_2_GLB_Version{
void run(){

while(true){

GLB_Sideview_Ladder(); //********* (before waitdraw)

Waitdraw();

if (onLadder) Link->Dir = DIR_UP; //********* (After Waitdraw)

Waitframe();

}//end whileloop
}//end run
}//end global slot2 Global Version

#5 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 03 April 2019 - 08:17 PM

Yes; Slot_2_GLB_Version is in the Active slot.



#6 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 04 April 2019 - 05:18 AM

It's much easier for me to check all of this if you wsend the quest file, your script set, and some docs explaining where you are using it to me.

 

Also, please update to 2.53.0 Release Using a Beta build nos, is not advised



#7 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 04 April 2019 - 07:52 AM

It's much easier for me to check all of this if you wsend the quest file, your script set, and some docs explaining where you are using it to me.

 

Also, please update to 2.53.0 Release Using a Beta build nos, is not advised

 

Here is the quest file and the script file. And here is a link to the original script and its page.

 

On the very first screen is a warp that will take you to a sideview screen where I've plastered some ladders. The combo for the ladder is combo 768 on combo page 3. It's set to use the Script 2 for combo type and the inherent flag is set for General Purpose 2 (Scripts).

 

As for using a stable build, I understand. Not that I'm a power user, but I'm not worried about it. I know that something could interfere with, well, anything because it's a beta build but if it worked in the demo quest that justin uploaded, it should work here. Nevertheless if nothing here works and changing to 2.53 makes it work somehow, I'll just do that.



#8 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 04 April 2019 - 09:16 PM

Here is the quest file and the script file. And here is a link to the original script and its page.
 
On the very first screen is a warp that will take you to a sideview screen where I've plastered some ladders. The combo for the ladder is combo 768 on combo page 3. It's set to use the Script 2 for combo type and the inherent flag is set for General Purpose 2 (Scripts).
 
As for using a stable build, I understand. Not that I'm a power user, but I'm not worried about it. I know that something could interfere with, well, anything because it's a beta build but if it worked in the demo quest that justin uploaded, it should work here. Nevertheless if nothing here works and changing to 2.53 makes it work somehow, I'll just do that.


You aren't using 2.53 at all You are using 2.55, and it is even more critical to stay current in that case,

Anyway, here is a fixed quest file for you:
http://timelord.inso...ngeon-fixed.qst

The script file is in the buffer.

This is actually a new bug or 2.55: It seems that the combo type list is offset somewhere, and script 1 is showing up as script 2

I'm not yet sure at what point this offset occurs, but we'll fix it. Ah-ha, it's a bug in the classic module, or in module population of combo names.


Found it. @const char combo_name_fields[cMAX][255]=

Missing a comma, here: "cSLASHNEXTITEM", "cBUSHNEXT"

The offset starts at "Slash (Continuous)", and "Bush->Next" is the last unaffected CT

#9 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 04 April 2019 - 09:24 PM

You aren't using 2.53 at all You are using 2.55, and it is even more critical to stay current in that case,

Anyway, here is a fixed quest file for you:
http://timelord.inso...ngeon-fixed.qst

The script file is in the buffer.

 

Thank you for the help! What was wrong, exactly?

Also, I knew I wasn't using 2.53. I mentioned it. It just doesn't seem like it's important because the demo quest for the script worked fine.



#10 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 04 April 2019 - 10:58 PM

Thank you for the help! What was wrong, exactly?

Also, I knew I wasn't using 2.53. I mentioned it. It just doesn't seem like it's important because the demo quest for the script worked fine.

 

Combo Type Script 1 was displaying as Script 2 in the editor, so your placement of Script 2 combos is actually Script 1, and Script 1 combos are actually Tall Grass->Next.

 

Here is a patched quest, with the combos and the script operating on Script 2 types, and a patched ZQuest.exe that displays the correct names:

 

http://timelord.inso...ngeon-fixed.qst

http://timelord.inso...ha17/zquest.exe



#11 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 04 April 2019 - 11:43 PM

P.S. I expect that you manually enabled 'Triggered by Script 2' on the Combo Attributes for your ladder combo?

 

That isn't for this type of thing, at all. It's for whether a new combo type (not yet used) is triggered by weapons with an ID of LW_SCRIPT2.

 

Note also that you now have 20 combo types, and 20 combo flags in the 'Script/Custom' family. The entire ladder script could rely on a simple inherent flag now, rather than the pairing that it used before; which was because the old version only had 5 types.

 

There are also new types and flags reserved for commonly scripted stuff in the editor.



#12 Kyouken

Kyouken

    Newbie

  • Members

Posted 05 April 2019 - 07:32 PM

P.S. I expect that you manually enabled 'Triggered by Script 2' on the Combo Attributes for your ladder combo?

 

That isn't for this type of thing, at all. It's for whether a new combo type (not yet used) is triggered by weapons with an ID of LW_SCRIPT2.

 

Note also that you now have 20 combo types, and 20 combo flags in the 'Script/Custom' family. The entire ladder script could rely on a simple inherent flag now, rather than the pairing that it used before; which was because the old version only had 5 types.

 

There are also new types and flags reserved for commonly scripted stuff in the editor.

 

Yeah, I was trying anything that even remotely looked like it was related. Especially because I couldn't figure what I was doing wrong (the demo quest used the Script 01 combo and second combo flag for General Purpose 2 (Scripts), which threw me off some more since it acted like a bush for me D:< ). Thank you for the help and the explanations. I don't know whether to be happy or sad that it wasn't me, but at any rate, the problem is solved and perhaps helped something bigger.



#13 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    The Timelord

  • ZC Developers
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 05 April 2019 - 08:37 PM

Yeah, I was trying anything that even remotely looked like it was related. Especially because I couldn't figure what I was doing wrong (the demo quest used the Script 01 combo and second combo flag for General Purpose 2 (Scripts), which threw me off some more since it acted like a bush for me D:< ). Thank you for the help and the explanations. I don't know whether to be happy or sad that it wasn't me, but at any rate, the problem is solved and perhaps helped something bigger.


You did indeed. I overlooked this, and it was like that for a while; entirely my fault.

Thank you for bringint it to my attention. The fixed .exe files will be in Alpha 17, due out in a day or two. Keep an eye out for that, because it also fixes some other grotesque bugs from Alpha 16, and it introduces some very powerful new fesatures.
  • Alucard648 and Kyouken like this


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users