Photo

[Solved] Sword beams only with low health?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 bloqm

bloqm

• Members

Posted 18 February 2020 - 06:28 PM

Hello!

I'm trying to come up with a way to make the Wooden Sword fire beams only with LOW health. Ideally, beams will be fired when and only when hearing the "low hp alarm". Other swords should work as usual.

I've tried setting the beam requirements to 999 hearts (so the beam won't fire normally) in combination with the Peril Ring (so it fires with low health), but that simply disables beams completely.

Is there another way to achieve this? I don't mind scripting but I'm new to the engine so I'd need a pointer.

Tangent: I enabled the Peril Ring at Init Data but it won't show up in the inventory. This is perfect for me, but I'm wondering if perhaps I'm missing something with the setup...

Thanks!

EDIT-

In sword item, Beam Hearts has to be percentual. This solves the problem:

Change the `Beam Hearts` from `20` to `200`, and check the flag `B.H. is Percent`. That'll work.

Thank you venrob!

Edited by bloqm, 19 February 2020 - 08:22 PM.

#2 Mani Kanina

Mani Kanina

Rabbits!

• Members

Posted 18 February 2020 - 07:02 PM

Are you sure you used a new save file after changing the init data? You might not have the peril ring, you could double check using cheat lv3 to see if you have it in your inventory. Been a while since I messed with the peril ring, but IIRC it should still function even if the sword beam don't normally fire.

#3 bloqm

bloqm

• Members

Posted 18 February 2020 - 08:08 PM

Thank you, with a new save the ring shows up in the inventory. However, the beam still won't fire.

After messing around, I noticed that the peril-rings-class has a hint in the editor that says that the ring divides the damage received when below a health threshold. I haven't found any mention of this ring in the wiki, so I'm actually not sure what is it's actual behaviour.

Any ideas?

#4 Emily

Emily