ZC on linux questions

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Valerie

Valerie

Illustrious

• Members

Posted 08 September 2020 - 03:05 PM

I installed ZC on linux recently and I have a few questions.

When I installed it, it didn't ask me for my admin password, and it has always asked me for that when I installed programs in the past, I was wondering why that was. (I am still learning about linux and am curious about things like this)

When I run it in 320x240 (windowed or fullscreen) it runs full speed, but when I set the resolution higher it goes around maybe half speed, is there a way to make it run faster? Or is my computer just too old. Also when I run it in 320x240 fullscreen it is small and has a big black border, anyway to make it run without the border at full speed?

Also the download link for this at zeldaclassic.com wasn't working, I downloaded it at purezc.

Edited by Valerie, 08 September 2020 - 03:05 PM.

#2 Saffith

Saffith

IPv7 user

• ZC Developers

Posted 08 September 2020 - 03:51 PM

Most programs (and their support files) go into system directories, usually under /usr or /opt, and they need your password to modify those directories. More precisely, they need root privileges, and the system is configured to require a password to grant them. Some applications, like ZC, you just unzip and run from anywhere. In that case, they don't need any special permissions.

ZC doesn't use hardware acceleration on Linux, so it will unfortunately be slower than on Windows. But it's not that demanding; I would expect even an older system could handle it. Does pressing F1 or ~ make a difference? I can't think of much else to try offhand - there's not a lot that should affect it.

If running 320x240 fullscreen doesn't just work, you probably can't do anything to make it. It requires changing the screen resolution, and not many screens support resolutions that low.

• ShadowTiger and Valerie like this

#3 Valerie

Valerie

Illustrious

• Members