• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 StarWoors

StarWoors

Initiate

• Members

Posted 10 December 2012 - 11:33 AM

HI! icon_redface.gif

I'm still a BIG TIME NOOB! But could someone please explain how I could either import or create a PALLET for downloaded tile sets? The colors are way off and I just have no idea on how to creat a pallet and use cset--with the exception of going into the combo editor.

Also, is there a recolor button or command? If so where can I find it? icon_frown.gif

#2 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

• Members

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:06 PM

Creating palettes is tricky. Creating good palettes is very hard.

If you're just trying to make downloaded loose tiles fit, your best bet would be to just recolor the tiles for use in your existing palette. When ripping, there is a recolor button, but it's not foolproof. If it doesn't work, you can use the built-in tile editor afterwards to recolor them (simple but tedious), or else use GraphicsGale to recolor the sheet beforehand (complicated but fast). I've never used GraphicsGale successfully, so you'd need to ask someone else how to use it.

#3 ShadowTiger

ShadowTiger

The Doctor Is In

• Members

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:06 PM

First things first, read this. Specifically, the last half of it where it explains how palettes work. It is definitely very important. To import a custom palette without changing your tiles means that the tiles that you already have will be viewed in a palette that doesn't match the colors the tiles were drawn in, and the tiles will look very strange.