IDK how sprites work

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Bokoblin

Bokoblin

added tree hair

• Members

Posted 28 February 2023 - 11:27 PM

How does the game decide on what sprite to use? There's only 2 spots for sprites in the enemy editor when I need 16. Is ZC psychic? Do you just give it 2 sprites and it magically finds all the rest with its third eye powers?

Is there some Sheikah bullcrap going on here that y'all ain't telling me?

plz help meh.

#2 Professor Bedwetter

Professor Bedwetter

Strangers when we meet

• Members

Posted 01 March 2023 - 12:21 AM

i have been using this program for 16 years and I do not understand how sprites work

• Hergiswi, Naldrag and Matthew like this

#3 Magi_Hero

Magi_Hero

gubgub

• Members

Posted 01 March 2023 - 08:45 AM

image.png

Here's an image of the enemy editor. The W and H fields below the sprites are used to determine the number of tiles being used for the enemy's movement animation. Here is the default Darknut. As you can see, old uses 5 horizontal tiles. New uses 16 horizontal tiles.

Edited by Magi_Hero, 01 March 2023 - 08:45 AM.

#4 Bokoblin

Bokoblin

added tree hair

• Members

Posted 01 March 2023 - 06:29 PM

Now the enemies are moving strangely. I made 3 columns of 16 tiles in the tile editor, just like with the original Zelda enemies such as the Moblins. A 4-frame walk cycle for each direction, up, down, left, and right, copy/pasted into 3 columns. I happily loaded up ZC, hoping that the Red Bokoblins would move like every other enemy, but sadly, their movements are a buggy mess. They are using the front-facing walk cycle for walking backwards, and the left-facing one for moving right. It looks like they're moonwalking.

The Hinoxen were a different beast. They would either stay in one location or warp halfway across the map. One time, the Bokoblins "warped" as well.

How do I make my sprites move normally? Please help me.

Edited by Bokoblin, 01 March 2023 - 06:30 PM.

#5 Russ

Russ