Jump to content

Photo

Special Message script, for videos/cutscenes

2.55 Alpha 83

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#16 Emily

Emily

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers

Posted 21 August 2020 - 03:43 PM

no, I didn't mean set it as none, I meant set it to what you want


  • Bagu likes this

#17 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 August 2020 - 03:56 PM

Yeah, I originally did so.

I succesfully changed font to tango_LttP.zh and advance sound (to 0, for silent message)
...but it ignores the changes I made to x/y position of the text box

 

CONFIG MAIN_X = 24; //Position of the text box
CONFIG MAIN_Y = 90; //Position of the text box


#18 Emily

Emily

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers

Posted 21 August 2020 - 04:12 PM

...fek, noticed a typo.

In the function "ShowMessage(int msg, int style)": change "Tango_SetSlotPosition(slot,32,25)" to "Tango_SetSlotPosition(slot,MAIN_X,MAIN_Y)"



#19 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 August 2020 - 04:44 PM

...fek, noticed a typo.

In the function "ShowMessage(int msg, int style)": change "Tango_SetSlotPosition(slot,32,25)" to "Tango_SetSlotPosition(slot,MAIN_X,MAIN_Y)"

I'll do so.

One second, please


Thanks, now it follows the const x/y settings.

....everything else is fine now.

It unfreezes the screen action, uses right sound, font and position (while it would still be nice to have variable attributes for this settings, in the ffc Cutscene_Message script, if possible)
...but the ffc script still doesn't call the next strings in list, which is one of the most important functions for me (beside unfreezing screen action)


Edited by Bagu, 21 August 2020 - 04:44 PM.


#20 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 August 2020 - 05:08 PM

Are the any rules in Quest Script Settings, that need to be enabled/disabled, to use the MessageCutscene ffc script,without problems?
...I can't figure out why it doesn't call the next string, so I thought this could be the reason.



#21 Emily

Emily

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers

Posted 21 August 2020 - 05:11 PM

I have no clue why it's not calling the next string; that'll need bigger debugging. Can you send me the quest file?

 

As for settings, that's something you can try to code; TangoHandler as a header is meant to be the absolute most basic implementation of tango, which just does one style of textbox, and only one at a time. It's meant for people who don't want to try to mess with all of tango's actual settings. If you want to use normal tango, instead of TangoHandler, then you can use all the fancy features it has to offer; which requires a *lot more* setup than it does to set up TangoHandler. You can feel free to do so, but I won't be of much help there, as that would take a lot of time that I don't have at the present, especially with college starting up again this week.

 

...and you just replied again. No, no QRs should matter for this. It should just work; but it's just not. Something is wrong. As I mentioned at the top of this post, I'll need the quest file to debug, and some time.



#22 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 August 2020 - 05:15 PM

Yes, of course
...I'll send you a dropbox Link

One second please.



#23 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 August 2020 - 05:41 PM

I just sent you a message, including the dropbox Link.

Thanks that you're so nice to help me.
I hope I'm not too intrusive.

 



#24 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 23 August 2020 - 03:09 PM

did you get my message and the dropbox link?



#25 Emily

Emily

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers

Posted 24 August 2020 - 03:13 AM

yeah, I may have time to look at it tomorrow... college starting and a bunch of stuff going on now, so my assistance will be slow.


  • Bagu likes this

#26 Timelord

Timelord

    The Timelord

  • Banned
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 25 August 2020 - 01:16 AM

FWTIW, I tested this, and I know that it works as intended:

 

#include "customTango.zh"
#include "TangoHandler.zh"

ffc script MessageCutscene
{
    void run(int startDelay, int the_str, int betweenDelay)
    {
        Waitframes(startDelay);
        messagedata md = Game->LoadMessageData(the_str);
        ShowMessageAndWait(the_str);
        do
        {
            the_str = md->Next;
            md = Game->LoadMessageData(the_str);
            Waitframes(betweenDelay);
            ShowMessageAndWait(the_str);
        }while(md->Next);
    }
}

  • Bagu likes this

#27 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 25 August 2020 - 04:03 AM

...gonna check it out now.
Thanks :)



#28 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 25 August 2020 - 04:26 AM

I checked it
...next strings are not playing.
...don't know why



#29 Bagu

Bagu

    Fandomizer

  • Members
  • Real Name:A.I. Bot Bottomheimer
  • Location:Germany

Posted 25 August 2020 - 05:11 AM

I tested it, in another new quest, too
...same result


I guess there's is something, I make TERIBBLY WRONG


I just read "tngo handler -read me" once more.
What is meant with "do not use from global script" ...about The "Show string and wait" function ?
 



#30 Emily

Emily

    Scripter / Dev

  • ZC Developers

Posted 25 August 2020 - 05:21 AM

That means that you cannot use that function in `global script` type scripts. The reason you can't do this is, the global script has to call "Tango_Update1()" and "Tango_Update2()", and if you call "ShowStringAndWait()", then you are telling the global script to wait for the string to finish, and because it then isn't calling the update calls, it will *never* finish.

 

This is in an ffc type script, so, that's not what's wrong.

 

What's wrong is, you need to press A to advance the messagebox. And you have a button disabler script making it impossible to press the A button, thus, impossible to go to the next message.

 

Also, unrelated, you could probably add more detail to your portraits in your dialogues with portraits if you used 8-bit tiles for them.


  • Bagu likes this


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users