Jump to content

Photo

Can normal combos have scripts attached to them?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 20 September 2016 - 07:23 PM

Can normal combos have scripts attached to them?

 

if so how would I go about making a script for locked, bombable, and several shutter doors?

I see that zc scripts seem to have a lot of code to do something small like this



#2 Lejes

Lejes

    Seeker of Runes

  • Members
  • Location:Flying High Above Monsteropolis

Posted 20 September 2016 - 08:32 PM

No, only FFC scripts. All the features you're describing exist in ZQuest by default, though. If there's something about their default implementation that isn't good enough, you'll have to be much, much more specific about how you want them to behave, whether you're trying to write a script yourself or asking someone else to.

#3 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 20 September 2016 - 11:32 PM

not even with global scripts?



#4 Avaro

Avaro

    o_o

  • Members
  • Real Name:Robin
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 September 2016 - 06:09 AM

FFC and global scripts can surely do anything you want with normal combos.



#5 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 21 September 2016 - 05:12 PM

FFC and global scripts can surely do anything you want with normal combos.

how would I make my own normal combo type through global scripts?



#6 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

    Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

  • Members
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 21 September 2016 - 05:12 PM

A script doesn't have to be attached to a combo to affect it. Most FFC scripts don't even use the FFC they're attached to, and just leave it invisible.

 

how would I make my own normal combo type through global scripts?

It all depends on what this combo type does. What are you trying to accomplish?



#7 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 21 September 2016 - 05:41 PM

I want to do the following

 

1) gb style solids

  a) link uses his push animation when he continues to collide with the wall

2) gb style pit falls

  a) this means proper collisions

  b) slow pull towards the pit

3) gb style chests

  a) basicly just this script but various versions of it implemented in combo types for example

     i) 4 normal chests

     ii) 4 locked chests

4) gb style doors, this would include ..

  a) 4 locked doors,

  b) 4 bombable doors,

  c) 4 oneway doors,

  d) 4 enemy doors,
  e) 4 pressure plate doors,

  f)  4 rammable doors(aka pegasus boots or throwing),

  g) 1 boss lock doors


Edited by Shadowblitz16, 21 September 2016 - 05:42 PM.


#8 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

    Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

  • Members
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 21 September 2016 - 07:40 PM

Wow, that's a lot of scripts. Yeah, they're possible. It will just take a lot of coding.



#9 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 21 September 2016 - 10:09 PM

thats what sucks I'm I'm not a c++ coder and since zscript is more along the lines of c++ its hard to code my own stuff

 

the chests, power bracelet and doors are already made I think its just importing them to non freeform combos that's the problem and somehow linking them to events

 

there really needs to be a team of people to put together a zscript api I think it could make scripts much easier to make

the problem is that people like to do their own thing and don't document their own APIs



#10 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

    Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

  • Members
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 22 September 2016 - 07:54 AM

If you want to learn ZScripting, you can read up in the tutorials section. You can also read zscript.txt and std.txt to learn about the ZScript API and the std functions, respectively.



#11 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 29 October 2016 - 11:42 AM

ok I would like to learn how to make my own custom combo's.

how do I make a certain combo on the screen run a script?



#12 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

    Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

  • Members
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 29 October 2016 - 04:04 PM

That depends entirely on what you want that script to do.



#13 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 29 October 2016 - 05:48 PM

well lets start with a GB style pit combo

how would I go about making it run a script when pit it has the pit flag? 



#14 MoscowModder

MoscowModder

    Sometimes lurking. Rarely posting.

  • Members
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 29 October 2016 - 07:49 PM

Pit combos are pretty complex, but there are at least 1 or 2 scripts in the database that do that already.



#15 Shadowblitz16

Shadowblitz16

    Illustrious

  • Members

Posted 30 October 2016 - 01:37 AM

I heard mero's pitfall script is hated by a lot of people and the other one just warps link to the pit which looks bad




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users