Photo

MIDI Instruments/Programs for ZC?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 garlicbread

garlicbread

• Members

Posted 17 January 2018 - 07:20 AM

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum section, first time poster and I didn't see anything else related to music elsewhere.

Does anyone know a program I can use that has ZC's exact same MIDI instrument set? I'm new to the whole MIDI creation thing, and when I make tracks in different software and save it as MIDI, a lot of my instruments seem to not work with ZC, so they're just muted, or changed to piano.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

#2 Russ

Russ

Caelan, the Encouraging

• Administrators

Posted 17 January 2018 - 09:55 AM

ZC doesn't have a separate MIDI instrument set. It just uses whatever the default set on your system is, so you should be fine to just make MIDIs with whatever tool you're using. The piano thing is actually a bug; clicking out of the window turns all MIDI instruments to pianos. If you don't click outside the ZC window, that shouldn't happen. If it's happening anyways... then it's probably that the bug is somehow worsening and oughta be reported.

#3 garlicbread

garlicbread

• Members

Posted 17 January 2018 - 03:33 PM

Interesting. So, if I work on a MIDI file, it may sound different to everyone else by the time it reaches their computer?

Also, do you know of any commonly used programs exclusively for a system's MIDI instrument set, then? I'm currently using MixCraft, which is not exclusively MIDI. I'm sure there are sounds I'm missing out on that would be viable with my system, but also sounds that are unusable that are already with the program.

#4 Colin

Colin

Coblin the Goblin

• Members

Posted 17 January 2018 - 03:48 PM

I always used Anvil Studio when I composed MIDIs and it is essentially exclusively MIDI. I think there's technically a paid addon to include some audio channels but I never used that.