Jump to content

Photo

How do I set up tall grass next?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 FormerlyEnnonFenom

FormerlyEnnonFenom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Real Name:eric dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in hyrule

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:32 AM

so I have tall grass animation combos set with a cut grass combo to the right. Then a regrowing grass that should cycle to tall grass next it started from.

 

But all I get is the same tile again but uncut-able, 

 

2.53-Beta-11 although I also had this issue with the build 1973



#2 strike

strike

    life is fragile, temporary, and precious

  • Members
  • Real Name:Olórin
  • Gender:Unspecified

Posted 19 October 2017 - 12:33 PM

I don't know how you are getting that exact error, but this is actually a little bit more complicated I think.

 

The tile with the animation won't start when you cut the grass. It'll start when the game is booted up. So basically it'll start in a random place in it's animation when you cut the grass. AND to make the issue more complicated, anytime any tile cycles to this tile, all the tiles of this type on screen will start the animation over. So I think every frame of the animation might have to be a separate tile which cycles to another frame? : p I don't know if that's right. Someone else should respond.

 

-Strike



#3 FormerlyEnnonFenom

FormerlyEnnonFenom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Real Name:eric dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in hyrule

Posted 19 October 2017 - 01:34 PM

this is how I have them set up:

 

tall%20grass%20next%20issue_zpsqkwxazin.

8 frame tall grass next, no cycle.

next combo to the right, an equal framed identical flat grass combo,

that cycles to a equal frame regrowing grass

that cycles back to the tall grass next.

 

From what the "?" info say`s is:

 

"identical to tall grass, but instead of turning into undertile when slashed. in turns into the next combo in list."

 

So my tall grass next should stay just that until cut,

then turn into the flat grass combo for 8 frames at 30 speed,

that cycles to a 8 frame at 25 speed regrowing grass,

that cycles to the original tall grass next with no cycle.

 

I am at a lose as to why this is not working. either I am setting it up wrong,

or the feature is broken. which sucks

because it allows for more unique undertiles for more then just ground

but cliff boarders, and or other objects were grass and it meet.


Edited by FormerlyEnnonFenom, 19 October 2017 - 01:52 PM.


#4 strike

strike

    life is fragile, temporary, and precious

  • Members
  • Real Name:Olórin
  • Gender:Unspecified

Posted 19 October 2017 - 07:46 PM

It works. The cycling is screwing up, set up incorrectly, not the slash next.

 

No, it won't go the "flat grass combo for 8 frames at 30 speed".  It will go to that tile but it won't start at the beginning of the animation. The tile will always be animating and cycling through it's animation without you seeing it, until you cut the grass and then you'll see it cycling, wherever it is in the animation. Also does the tile with the growing animation have the restart animation when cycled to box checked? 

 

I think you have to do what I said in my initial post

 

-Strike



#5 Anthus

Anthus

    The wild-eyed boy from freecloud

  • Contributors
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus (The one in Ohio)

Posted 20 October 2017 - 08:36 AM

I think there's a combo flag that resets animations when cycled to.

#6 EnnonFenom

EnnonFenom

    You can all kiss my 733t. Ima bout "2b 743 1337!"

  • Members
  • Real Name:Eric Dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in HYrule

Posted 20 October 2017 - 09:37 AM

ok this is getting confusing.

I thought that tg next was to replace need for flags that will trigger all under combos.

so you set up the unique under combo by putting it next to the tgn combo.

which would cause it to start its frame count down and turn to the combo regrow combo.

then to the tgn which requires cutting to switch to next combo.

 

so you can have multiple under combos for by a tree and open ground and  cliff edges.

 

i will make a z1 style example was. be right back............



#7 EnnonFenom

EnnonFenom

    You can all kiss my 733t. Ima bout "2b 743 1337!"

  • Members
  • Real Name:Eric Dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in HYrule

Posted 20 October 2017 - 10:28 AM

http://www.filehosti...396/tgn qst.rar

 

ok I thought I figured it out by what you said Anthus about flags.

 

So under were you set the combo to tall grass next,

there is the flag section I set that to triggered by sword any.

But I got a whole new problem. instead of remaining same tile

un cutable. it turned into a blank tile and triggered all instead of single tile. If you open the

tile page to 40 you can see the animation frames and look through the combos set up.

 

built in the 2.53.0 b11

I also found an interesting glitch. if you hold left or right and press esc and hold left or right and press esc again just right you continuously walk in that direction with out arrow keys



#8 ZoriaRPG

ZoriaRPG

    ZC Contributor & Wiki Editor

  • Members
  • Gender:Unspecified
  • Location:Prydon Academy

Posted 20 October 2017 - 10:42 AM

http://www.filehosti...396/tgn qst.rar

 

ok I thought I figured it out by what you said Anthus about flags.

 

So under were you set the combo to tall grass next,

there is the flag section I set that to triggered by sword any.

But I got a whole new problem. instead of remaining same tile

un cutable. it turned into a blank tile and triggered all instead of single tile. If you open the

tile page to 40 you can see the animation frames and look through the combos set up.

 

built in the 2.53.0 b11

I also found an interesting glitch. if you hold left or right and press esc and hold left or right and press esc again just right you continuously walk in that direction with out arrow keys

 

I guess it's a good thing that I randomly decided to read this thread. Of course, interface bugs like this aren't a high priority issue, but I might look into it.

 

Some videos of the issues concerning tall grass would be nice. The screenshots in this thread are 404s for me.

 

Why are people still using photobucket? They're a dead duck, and your images are not visible.


Edited by ZoriaRPG, 20 October 2017 - 10:43 AM.


#9 strike

strike

    life is fragile, temporary, and precious

  • Members
  • Real Name:Olórin
  • Gender:Unspecified

Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:04 AM

The animation won't start when you cut the grass even if you check the restart animation when cycled to box because the tile is not being cycled to. Going from tall grass next to the next tile in the list doesn't count as cycling. 

 

To the best of my knowledge, for this to work perfectly you literally need to have each frame of the animation be a separate tile. Maybe you think you could make a work around by having the tall grass next tile go to a tile with a one frame animation which cycles to the animation you want (this tile with the restart animation when cycled to to box checked), but you can't because restart animation when cycled to applies to every instance of the tile on the screen. So the grass would restart growing whenever new grass is cut.  


Edited by strike, 20 October 2017 - 11:08 AM.


#10 EnnonFenom

EnnonFenom

    You can all kiss my 733t. Ima bout "2b 743 1337!"

  • Members
  • Real Name:Eric Dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in HYrule

Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:39 AM

ok I provided a example qst up there. But here are some screen shots hope this img host will work.

 

tilepage.png
private image hosting

 

tgn_combos.png
private image hosting

 

tgn_combo_settings.png
private image hosting

 

blank_grass_combo_settings.png
private image hosting

 

 

regrowing_grass_combo_settings.png
private image hosting


Edited by EnnonFenom, 20 October 2017 - 11:42 AM.


#11 strike

strike

    life is fragile, temporary, and precious

  • Members
  • Real Name:Olórin
  • Gender:Unspecified

Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:52 AM

Yeah you are getting the specific error you are getting because the first tile shouldn't have the Sword Any flag.

 

But this set up still wouldn't work for the reasons I've already said : p

 

-Strike



#12 EnnonFenom

EnnonFenom

    You can all kiss my 733t. Ima bout "2b 743 1337!"

  • Members
  • Real Name:Eric Dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in HYrule

Posted 20 October 2017 - 01:14 PM



Yeah you are getting the specific error you are getting because the first tile shouldn't have the Sword Any flag.

 

But this set up still wouldn't work for the reasons I've already said : p

 

-Strike

 

actually it does. well the way I originally had it, with no flag. so now it is working. idk yet if in my actual tileset I am making qst. but that's top secret but watch this. I caught the esc walk glich but screen recorder doesnt show it the same as it did on my screen.

 

video



#13 strike

strike

    life is fragile, temporary, and precious

  • Members
  • Real Name:Olórin
  • Gender:Unspecified

Posted 20 October 2017 - 03:52 PM

Well I mean it works like I said it would. The grass doesn't undergo the same amount of time after being cut. When you cut the grass it just goes to a random point in the first animation. You do avoid the problem with the second animation restarting over and over because the two animations are the same length so that's good. If you are okay with the this result than that's good.

 

-Strike



#14 EnnonFenom

EnnonFenom

    You can all kiss my 733t. Ima bout "2b 743 1337!"

  • Members
  • Real Name:Eric Dethel
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in HYrule

Posted 20 October 2017 - 06:25 PM

um ok. am happy with it when working in my current project. ok here is the thing,

I got it to work. one one screen but not the one I was mocking up. 

 

Edit:

 

Ok I figured out the problem as to why the tall grass next was not working on one screen.

 

I noticed it worked on screens without layers. so I checked my layers screens. nothing to cause it. so I looked at layers set...

it made me feel dumb, I had accidentally place the screen I was build as layer 1 over its self.

thus not allowing me to see the tall grass next actually working under that layer :doh:

 

Well I had very little response as to how to use tall grass next. so not many or any has used it I am thinking.

Although I would double the blank grass frames to 16 and reduces the speed to 75.

 

Well this example qst and photos could be used in the tutorial section. Because I checked there first and found nothing.

 


Edited by EnnonFenom, 23 October 2017 - 09:55 AM.



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users