Photo

Which continue hearts is better?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

Poll: Which continue hearts is better?

Which continue hearts is better?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Kite

Kite

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 04:38 PM

Which method of continue hearts do you think is the best to use?

I am mainly curious since I'm trying to determine which would be best for me to use.

#2 Banedon

Banedon

Adept

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 05:05 PM

I like continuing with full hearts, which I see on a LOT of quests...

That's one thing I really didn't like about the original game (and most Zelda games made by Nintendo)...you start with something like 3 hearts full out of 16 when you reach the later stages of the game...

#3 Radien

Radien

Courage

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 05:05 PM

Personally, as a designer, I don't like the idea of continuing with full hearts. It gives an incentive to quit and then continue. I don't think this should be a part of the gameplay. And since doing so causes continue bugs more often than actually dying, there's a glitchy side to it, too.

#4 Hergiswi

Hergiswi

don't look for me, i'm just a story you've been told

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 05:21 PM

If the option was available, I would like to use a % when you get to a certain number of hearts, and start with full before that.

Of course, I'm in reality, and I'd vote full hearts. I agree with Radien, but I find it easiest to make use of. Maybe it's just me.

#5 plith

plith

I've been thinking.

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 07:01 PM

Go percentages. Full is more likely to make people take advantage of it, but starting with just 3-5 hearts forces people to go searching for a fairy every time they restart.

#6 Rambly

Rambly

Hero of Time

• Members

Posted 20 December 2004 - 07:17 PM