A Link to the Past Randomizer

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Anthus

Anthus

Lord of Liquids

• Members

Posted 03 May 2017 - 07:14 PM

I just started playing this yesterday, after finally deciding to try it out. I was apprehensive at first, cause my biggest fear was getting stuck really late cause I missed "x" item in that one chest in that one cave, somewhere. Well, that fear is put to rest, cause the Randomizer program creates a "spoiler" text file that tells you the location of everything, if you so need. It is formatted smartly too; you can simply look at the names of the items, and ignore the locations, except for the specific one you need, but be warned, some are quite vague, unless you have encyclopedic knowledge of this game.

This small thing makes playing it a ton of fun, otherwise, I would have never, ever guessed the Lamp was in Misery Mire, and I probably would have given up, as I wasn't fully thinking outside of the box yet. This game intends for you to enter the Dark World early and use whatever items you can find, and they are everywhere! I found the cape, and hookshot in Hyrule Castle, Sahasralah gave me the Quake Medallion, and the shenanigans continue to ensue. Also, there's a high chance a small chest might have a full Heart Container, since those are random too. It uses the Japanese version, with a few other hacks. Mainly, it removes a LOT of text, and fixes some other issues that may have caused a softlock in a normal playthrough, and you don't need the Lamp to see in dark rooms, etc.. I'm.. not sure if I can link to it here, cause it does technically generate a .srm (but not a ROM?) file, but hey, you know what? You can get it here, YOLO BAN ME!

Has anyone else played this? I feel like there was an LP, or a stream, but there's no dedicated thread for it here. Share you seeds! Too bad I can't cause I didn't save it before closing the program. Just kidding, I found it: C0682318. I will probably play this a few times.