A Long Time Coming

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 A Link to Frustration

A Link to Frustration

Link to Frustration

• Members

Posted 16 October 2014 - 11:10 PM

I've been working on the quest in one form or another for quite a few years now. But every time I ever seemed to make any sort of progress something bad would happen. Sometimes I'd lose interest for a while, a few times my computer gave up the ghost, and once my quest file even spontaneously corrupted! But each time the quest was reconceptualized and expanded. And now I think I've finally come to the version that will make the cut! But what am I hoping to get out of this game? Well, that's still in a sort of flux.

There's some difficulty trying to maintain a level of balance between the style of the games and the style of the cartoon. How cheesy and childish can I make it without becoming annoying? How dark and more adult-oriented can I make it before it becomes depressing? Should Link be silent like in the games? Or should I give him dialogue to run with the characterization of the cartoons? Is Ganon more menacing like he is in the games? Or more of a pushover (like Megatron or Cobra Commander, losing to the heroes time and again on a weekly basis)? Well, I think I've finally got all of this figured out, and now the primary challenge stems from trying to keep in check both the wildness of my ambition, and the scope of my inexperience. And boy! Are they both forces to be reckoned with! What are some of the wild things my ambition is driving me towards? Well...

A long and complex plotline that could possibly conclude in one of multiple different endings.

Teeming hordes of new enemies and bosses (despite the fact I know next to nothing about scripting).

Simple and yet challenging puzzles beyond the scope of "push this block here".

A plethora of sidequests, including but not limited to: Gathering, Trading, Dungeon Diving, and Minigames.